The Saddle Story

While I know that everyone has experienced the newfound freedom and exhilaration that comes with your first ride, second ride, third ride, and so on. It just occurred to me that I should put mine on paper. After all, it is the third best thing I’ve ever done (marrying my wife and having a dog being the top 2). And had I known the way it would feel, I would have begun riding long before now.

It was at the encouragement of my wife and a few special friends, that I decided I would give it a try. I mean I had met other riders and was really impressed that they were riding. I just thought the bike was too big, etc. But I still booked the Royal Enfield Bullet Electra and actually counted the days until it was time for it to begin, the anticipation grew. I became excited, nervous, happy, worried, scared, etc.

I was exhausted to say the least after the long wait; the motorcycle ‘RUDY’ arrived. And I had a license to ride a motorcycle. I was proud of myself for doing it. I was all geared up and my first ride on the street was 350 Kms total. It was everything and more than I ever expected. I had a little trouble maneuvering through the traffic, but I rode. It was a good feeling. I joined THE GUARDIAN MC and then there was no stopping from going on ride.

The road seemed long as I had to maintain the speed limit of 60 kmph until the first overhaul. We were four riders including me. Three of them were experienced and the fourth myself being a novice. The journey started little past dawn. We had breakfast on the way…but the best part about this group is that you are never left behind; there is some biker from the group is always following you throughout no matter what speed you ride.

Since we ride there would be more swifts and breakdowns. We had one where our fellow rider who had a breakdown and the motorcycle had to be towed to the garage. Well these are the experience you gain throught out the journey…no matter what move ahead.

After that, I seemed to get a little better and a little braver with each ride.Choosing to ride has truly changed my life. The open road and wind in your face is great therapy. And where else can you find therapy this cheap (30 Kms for 70 Rs)!!! I still have a lot to learn, and I still need to master the rides. The nervousness has eased since I first started riding. I am sure I will never stop learning, and eventually master the rides. I am thoroughly enjoying the freedom I have on my bike and look forward to many more miles in the future.

And more experiences to share:)

whatsapp-image-2016-12-18-at-19-36-59-1 whatsapp-image-2016-12-18-at-19-36-59-2 whatsapp-image-2016-12-18-at-19-36-59-3 whatsapp-image-2016-12-18-at-19-36-59

Leave a comment