Those who wander are not lost

Hello fellas…I may have to add an asterisk to the saying that buying things can’t make you happy. I bought a motorcycle, and I’ll be damned if it hasn’t made me one percent happier than I used to be. Then again, we all know that spending money on experiences can make you happy. A motorcycle isn’t just a vehicle to move you from place to place– it’s an experience every time you ride it.

This time the road took me and rudy to Amboli a kinda hill station approx 500 Kms from Mumbai. I was praying for the TAR to be good for the comfort. But once I rode, especially on the highway, I experienced complete presence in the moment. I didn’t think about what just happened or what’s going to happen. I didn’t even think about what is happening. I just experience the moment and react on instinct as you fly down the highway. The wind booms so loudly that I couldn’t hear anything else, or even imagine any other sounds. Each bump in the pavement gently pushed me like a wave on a boat. My eyes could hardly believe what they saw; the motorcycle disappeared and I was only aware of the world I was streaking through. The first time I got up to speed and experienced all this, I couldn’t help but say “WOW” inside my helmet.

It was 5.30am I had left Mumbai. It was 08.30am untill I crossed Pune I was riding at my own speed. No rules, no slowing infact no stopping. Heat was gripping but I had to reach the destination. It was not easy but the enthusiasm to meet The Guardians helped me revving ahead. It was noon and I had to reach to meet meet the old breeds. There comes a point when my body almost gave up; it was just 70kms before Amboli(the place where we stayed). But speaking to my friend boosted my confidence. Finally i reached and felt proud of myself that being an initiate I did a solo ride 500 kms…now thats a WOW.  The weather was pleasant and it made it up for the discomfort in the ride. We camped through the night. All the initiates had to give their introduction and i was the first one. There was drinks and good food.

The very next morning approx 11 am we left for back home. Ofcourse I made many friend…This whole group ride thing was new to me and I made some mistakes for which I got scoldings from the older breeds as it was their responsibility to make us reach safe. I was made to follow traffic rules no nonsense on the hiway.  We took many breaks during the ride as the THUMB RULE: PLEASE INFORM FELLOW RIDERS IF YOU ARE FEELING DROWSY. Drowsy riding is more dangerous than drink n riding. I would say its a family riding on the roads. They made me so comfortable that I never felt I was riding with the core group for the first time.  Every break we took was some experience to share. They were literally THE GUARDIANS on the roads. There would be many more rides to come with many more new friends. Thanks guys.

As its said:
Those who wander are not lost

2 Comments

Leave a comment